Dreaming of vacation!

Anyone who knows me, knows my big thing in life is to travel! I almost feel as though I would rather shower my kids with life’s adventures than spoiling them all year long with toys… ( which btw I definitely do not do!) As a kid, my parents loved to travel, mainly outside the US to tropical places, but it became such a  huge part in my life.

Before my husband and I got married, we had said we would do a big vacation every few years and small trips every year. At the time we of course had no idea how having one child after the next would slightly alter those plans. And then even more so as they entered school. Now the only time for us to travel is school breaks or summer. Before our eldest was in kindergarten we loved being able to have the freedom to just go away during the week. We would often travel to New Hampshire in the fall and every place would be empty. Ah, those were the days!

I feel lucky though. I have to admit many people would say that traveling with more than 2 children is quite taxing. I actually quite enjoy it! I look forward to watching them enjoy the same things and places as, ask questions, and their facial expressions.

Alas, as the cold weather approaches I can only dream of a get away. We went to Disney world this past January. Oh, I know! What am I complaining about?! well, im not! I am just dreaming.  I actually count down the days until my husband says those words ” Let’s plan Disney again!” or ” how about a nice long beach vacation!”

As our 2016 year ends and we are getting ready to ring in the new year, we have decided we would try to save up. We would love to take the kids to Hershey Park this year, and try out the Cape Codder resort in Cape Cod!  I hope to do a review on those if we can make it out there! We also decided to get our youngest a passport! We want to take them up to Canada again and experience Niagara falls on the Canadian side!

One Vacation I would love to try to get to is Hawks Cay in the Florida Keys.  They have a small water area for the kids with a pirate ship, and a beautiful lagoon they can swim in and snorkel. As far as I could tell, I did not see much of a beach area aside of the lagoon. I also noticed they had dolphin encounters. My husband is not a huge fan of the tropics, so this is probably the best we will get until the kids are older!

Where is your dream vacation?!

Until then let’s keep dreaming!

 

XoXo Mama Alicia

Leave a Reply

